Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: News

2014 Individual Awards Recipients Announcement

Thursday, September 4, 2014  
Share |

The Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors Awards and Recognition Committee is pleased to announce the 2014 individual award winners.  These awards will be presented at the AFA Annual Meeting in Nashville, TN on Friday, December 5, 2014.


Jack L. Anson Award: Elizabeth “Betty” Ahlemeyer Quick

Betty Quick has been a dedicated volunteer and partner in the fraternal movement for many years.  Not only has she given tirelessly to her own organization, Gamma Phi Beta, but she has been involved with the National Panhellenic Conference for 30 years, 20 of those were as the NPC Delegate for Gamma Phi Beta. During her time as NPC Delegate, Betty serves as the Chairman of the NPC from 2005 to 2007.  Betty also serves as a Board Member for the Fraternity/Sorority Political Action Coalition, which works to build a positive presence in Washington to help protect the fraternal experience by supporting members of Congress who champion Greek issues.  Betty holds a B.S. Ed. from Indiana University and a M.Ed. from Indiana State University. 


Kent L. Gardner Award: Gregory Singleton

Gregory R. Singleton currently serves as the Associate Vice President and Dean of Students at Austin Peay State University.  With more than 26 years in higher education, Greg has worked professionally at the University of Memphis, Purdue University, and the University of Miami, prior to APSU.  He holds an A.S. from Jackson State Community College, B.S. Ed. From the University of Memphis, M.S. in Student Personnel Services and Counseling from the University of Memphis, and M.S. in Educational Leadership from Florida International University. Greg has held numerous volunteer roles within the fraternal movement, notably as Executive Director of the Southeastern Interfraternity Conference, President of the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors and Chair of the AFA Foundation, and as both a regional vice president and National Scholarship Officer for his Fraternity,  Kappa Alpha Order.  For his continued service and advocacy for the fraternal movement, Greg received the NIC Award of Distinction in 2014.


Robert A Shaffer Award: Anne Arseneau

Anne Arseneau is currently the Director of Student Leadership Development at the College of William & Mary.  The College of William & Mary is also Anne’s alma mater, having earned both a Bachelor’s Degree in English and a Master’s of Education Degree at the College.  Prior to returning to William & Mary in 1997, Anne worked at DePauw University, as Associate Director of Residence Life, and LeaderShape Inc., as Director of Program Management.  Anne is a dedicated volunteer for her sorority, Kappa Alpha Theta, both locally and nationally.  Over the years, Anne has held numerous volunteer roles for the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors, most notably as the Annual Meeting Chair in 2005 and as the first ever Volunteer Coordinator in 2006-2009.  

Sue Kraft Fussell Distinguished Service Award

Beth Conder

Beth Conder is currently the Director of Alumni & Parent Programs at Butler University.  Prior to that, Beth served as the Associate Executive Director for Alpha Chi Omega, Director of Assessment & Leadership at Alpha Sigma Phi, and Senior Coordinator for Greek Life at the University of Arizona.  Beth has served the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors as a member of the Board of Directors 2009 & 2010, and as the Annual Meeting Chair in 2007; she currently serves as a member of the AFA Foundation Board of Directors and member of the executive committee.  In addition to volunteering for the Association, Beth has volunteered for the Association of Fraternal Leadership & Values, in various roles since 2004.  Beth was initiated into Alpha Chi Omega while earning her B.S. in Business Management at Indiana State University; she then earned her M.S. in College Student Affairs from Eastern Illinois University.


Anita Cory

Dr. Anita Cory is currently the Associate Director of the Center for Student Involvement & Leadership at the University of Iowa.  Prior to that, she worked at Washington State University and held roles in Assessment & Planning for Student Affairs and in the Center for Fraternity & Sorority Life.   Dr. Cory earned both her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from the University of Nebraska, and earned her Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from Washington State University. Last year she received the AFA/CSCF Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation award for her dissertation, “The Influence of Fraternity or Sorority Membership on the Leadership Identity Development of College Student Leaders.” Anita is a member of Chi Omega Fraternity and has been involved in advancing the fraternal movement for over twenty years through various volunteer roles and presenting at numerous conferences both at the regional and national level.


Steve Whitby

Steve is currently the Pastor of Creativity at Warehouse 242.  Steve was initiated into Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity while earning his Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Steve has worked professionally at both Pi Kappa Phi Headquarters, as the Director of Education and Assistant Executive Director, and at the College of Charleston, as the Associate Director of Student Life.  For nearly two decades Steve has written and delivered educational programs and is now a speaker with the CAMPUSPEAK agency, visiting campuses across the country.  His creative design and visual storytelling work for AFLV’s conferences and Connections Magazine is consistently recognized year after year by the Fraternity Communications Association.


Honor these outstanding colleagues with a donation to the AFA Foundation in recognition of their achievements. You can donate online or mail a check to: AFA Foundation/P.O. Box 1369/Fort Collins, CO 80522. Please specify the award winner(s) you would like to honor on the memo line of all checks and the comments section online. All award winners will receive a list of donors who contributed in her honor. Donations for “in honor of” specification should be received by November 1, 2014.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal