News & Press: News

2019 Award Winners - Full List

Monday, December 23, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Andrea Starks-Corbin
Share |

We would like to extend a huge congratulations to all the 2019 award winners. Below is a recap of those honored at the 2019 AFA Annual Meeting in Anaheim, CA.

 Recognition Luncheon Awards:
  • Essentials Award: Nicholas Hudson, Texas A&M International University, "Community Cultural Wealth & Funds of Knowledge at the Center of Advisement"
  • Perspectives Award: Hailey M. Mangrum, Virginia Tech, “Even If You In a Benz, You Still an N***** in a Coupe”
  • Dr. Charles Eberly Oracle Award: Gabriel Serna, Michigan State University, Dawn Wiese, PLAID, & Stephen Simo, University of Rhode Island, "Needs and Stress in Fraternity/Sorority Life: Evidence of Social & Behavioral Differences Among Sorority & Fraternity Members"
  • Outstanding Change Initiative (Institution) Award: Miami University, NPC Initiative
  • Outstanding Change Initiative (Organization) Award: Delta Gamma, Risk Prevention and Reduction Initiative
  • Outstanding Social Justice & Diversity Initiative Award: Columbia University, Creating an Inclusive Community
  • Excellence in Educational Programming (Institution) Award: Temple University, Service Immersion Program
  • Excellence in Educational Programming (Organization) Award: Delta Chi, Associate Member Program
  • Excellence in Educational Programming (Affiliate) Award: LaunchPoint, PNM Orientation Program
  • Gayle Webb New Professional Award (Institution): Jessica Ashton, East Carolina University
  • Gayle Webb New Professional Award (Organization): Brooke Goodman, Delta Phi Epsilon
  • Amy Vojta Outstanding AFA Foundation Volunteer Award: Amy Vojta, Rutgers University
  • Shelley Sutherland Outstanding Volunteer Award: Emilie Dye, Graduate Student Experience Chair
  • Shelley Sutherland Outstanding Volunteer Award: Kim Monteaux De Freitas, Professional Development Committee Member


Individual Awards:

  • Dr. Kent L. Gardner Award: Dr. Joanne Smith, Texas State University – San Marcos
  • Jack L. Anson Award: Dr. Mari Ann Callais, Delta Delta Delta Fraternity
  • Dr. Robert H. Shaffer Award:  Dr. Monica Lee Miranda, University of South Florida
  • Sue Kraft Fussell Distinguished Service Award
    • Dominic Greene, Delta Upsilon International Fraternity
    • Dr. Byron Hughes, Virginia Tech
    • Jennifer Leung, William & Mary
    • Michelle Marchand, Delta Upsilon International Fraternity
    • Kara Miller McCarty, Cornell University

Contact Us
Connect With Us