Institution & Organization Awards
Share |

Institution and Organization Awards

AFA/CoHEASAP Award for Outstanding Alcohol/Drug Prevention Program

The Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors is proud to sponsor the AFA/CoHEASAP Award for Outstanding Alcohol/Other Drug Prevention Program. This award annually recognizes an outstanding campus and/or inter/national organization for its efforts in broad-based alcohol/other drug prevention efforts and the impacts they have had. Two awards will be available for distribution each year; one to a campus and one to an inter/national fraternity/sorority.

 Year Recipient
 2017 University of Vermont, BASICS for Fraternity & Sorority Life
 2016 Alpha Sigma Phi Fraternity
 2015 University of Illinois, Urbana – Champaign
 2013 Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity
 2012 Michigan State University
 2011 University of Alabama 
 2010 University of Central Missouri
 2009 Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity 


Diversity & Social Justice Initiative Award

Established in 1994, this award is presented to an individual, institution, or organization that has contributed significantly to the development of multicultural understanding, diversity education, or social justice initiatives in a college or university fraternity/sorority community or inter/national organization. Criteria for this award include Affiliate, Associate, Graduate, or Professional membership in AFA or institutions/organizations with at least one eligible AFA member and significant involvement in diversity, social justice, and/or multicultural issues. 

 Year Recipient
 2019 Columbia University, Creating an Inclusive Community 
 2018 Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., Social Action Program 
 2017 Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Learn 2 Live
 2016 Kim Monteaux De Freitas, University of Vermont
 2015 Jess Pettitt, Good Enough Now, I am ... Safe Zone
 2014 Lehigh University 
 2013 The Ohio State University
 2012 University of Vermont
 2011 Towson University
 2010 Kayte Sexton Fry, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
 2009 University of Vermont
 2008 Student Affairs Division at the University of Louisville 
 2007 Northwestern University, Bridging the Gap
 2004 David Ortiz, Baylor University
 2003 Shelah Crear, University of Texas
 2002 Jason Dean, University of Mississippi
 2001 Michael Deen, Western Regional Greek Conference
 2000 Monica Miranda, University of Rochester
 1998 Steve Dealph, Northwestern University
 1997 Michael Deen, Southern Methodist University
 1995 Kyle Van Hoften, University of California, Berkeley
 1994 Mary Peterson, University of Iowa


Excellence in Educational Programming Award

The purpose of the Excellence in Educational Programming Award is to recognize new and innovative programs that result in learning or education. Three awards may be presented for educational programming efforts: one to a fraternal organization for efforts directed to undergraduate or alumni members, one to an affiliate or vendor member organization for educational efforts, and one for a campus-based program for new and innovative educational efforts. Organizations/Campuses may not receive the award more than once for the same program in a three-year cycle.

 Year Recipient
 2019 Temple University, Service Immersion Program
Delta Chi, Associate Member Program
LaunchPoint, PNM Orientation Program
 2018 Ball State University, Greek Peer Advocates Program
Alpha Xi Delta, The Founders’ Academy 
 2017 Miami University, Online Orientation Course
Gamma Phi Beta International Sorority, REAL Leadership Experience
 2016 University of Illinois, GUARD Program
Zeta Tau Alpha Fraternity, Behind Happy Faces Program
James R. Favor & Company, Fraternal Health & Safety Initiative 
 2015 Iowa State University, Students Advocating for Everyone (SAFE)
Sigma Nu Fraternity, LEAD Program 
 2014  Northeast Greek Leadership Association, Advisors’ Academy
Ohio State University, Buckeye Fraternal Citizenship Series
Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women and the Online Learning Center
 2013 Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Interactive Media Risk Management Program
The Leadership Institute: Women With Purpose, Service Immersion Experience
Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., A34Life Project
 2012 Kappa Alpha Theta, Sisters Supporting Sisters
Phired Up Productions & the RESPONSE ABILITY Project, Be the Person
 2011 Pi Beta Phi, Leading with Values
Purdue University, Perfect Party
CAMPUSPEAK, Elephants & Onions
 2010 Ohio University, Gays, Greeks, & Grape Juice
Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Global Service Initiative
The Leadership Institute - Women With Purpose, Barriers to Facilitation
 2009 Lehigh University, GEMS: Leadership Development Program
Delta Delta Delta, Reflections: Body Image Program
RISE Partnerships, From Hazing to Health
 2008 Cornell University, Positively Challenging
Beta Theta Pi Fraternity, Keystone Regional Leadership Conferences
CAMPUSPEAK, Inc., The Intake Equation
 2007 Gamma Phi Beta International Sorority, Collegiate Advisor Development Program
HRH/Kirklin & Co., LLC, Personal Consequences: Understanding the Personal Liability of Your Greek Experience
 2006 Beta Theta Pi Fraternity, The Miller Nichols Chapter Presidents Leadership Academy
 2005 Sigma Sigma Sigma, Essential Sigma
 2004 Alpha Omicron Pi, F.A.I.T.H.i
 2003 Beta Theta Pi, Beta Wilderness Challenge
 2002 Sigma Alpha Epsilon, True Gentleman Initiative
 2001 Sigma Chi, Risk Management Foundation, Riskwatch Interactive
 2000 Beta Theta Pi, Men of Principle Initiative
 1999 Sigma Phi Epsilon & Delta Delta Delta, Carlson University
 1998 Alpha Gamma Delta, Seeing Through the Haze to a Clearer Purpose
 1997 Phi Mu, Journey of a Woman
 1996 Delta Gamma
 1995 Kappa Alpha Theta
 1994 Theta Xi
 1993 Zeta Tau Alpha
 1992 Delta Gamma, Well Aware Program
Kappa Kappa Gamma, SEEK: Self Esteem for Every Kappa
Phi Sigma Kappa, The Basics
Sigma Alpha Epsilon, The Leading Edge


Outstanding Change Initiative Award

Established in 1996, this award is presented to institutions of higher education, vendor member organizations, and inter/national organizations that have made tremendous progress and improvement in their fraternity/sorority community or organization. The award recognizes major initiatives or long term plans that have led to positive changes within the campus fraternity and sorority community or the inter/national organization and measured improvements, results, and positive outcomes in all or some of the following areas: scholarship, educational programs, leadership development, risk management, collaboration, community engagement, retention, and membership recruitment.

 Year Recipient
 2019 Miami University, NPC Initiative
Delta Gamma, Risk Prevention and Reduction Initiative
 2018 North Carolina State University, Hazing Prevention Initiative
 2017 North Carolina State University, Tailgate Reform
Zeta Tau Alpha, Harm Reduction and Wellness Strategic Plan
 2016 Purdue University 
 2015 University of Maryland
Delta Upsilon Fraternity 
 2014 Ohio State University
 2013 Quinnipiac University
 2012 California State University, Northridge
 2011 Purdue University
 2010 University of Rochester
 2009 Worcester Polytechnic Institute
 2008 University of Delaware
 2007 Lehigh University
 2006 Dartmouth College
 2005 The Ohio State University
 2004 Drexel University
 2003 University of North Carolina
 2002 Colorado State University
 2001 The Ohio State University
 2000 Pennsylvania State University
 1999 University of New Mexico
 1998 Valparaiso University
 1996 University of Maryland, College Park
Contact Us
Connect With Us